My Writings. My Thoughts.

Weekend Success

At » 12:37 // 0 Comments »
Well, this weekend went well on VP Poker. On Friday I experimented with playing poker whilst drunk. Yes, I know this is a big no-no but I actually managed to play one tournament and win it. Then on Saturday I entered another three sit n gos and managed to at least get paid in them all. Things are looking up! There will definitely be some more poker getting played this week!


Red Shades

Saturday night poker marathon

At » 12:05 // 0 Comments »
On Saturday night I am going to put in a decent poker session on VC Poker. It's been a slow week basically because of work / life commitments so I haven't been able to give it the time I need to but this Saturday I will be back and Ill continue my climb up the ladder! Come along and play!

Red Shades.

P.S. In the coming days / weeks I'm going to finish reading 'The Science of Poker' and give you my views on how it's affected my poker game for the better or worse!

Back in the game!

At » 03:33 // 0 Comments »
Hi All!,
It's been a busy week this week and I've not been able to put some time in for the poker but this weekend I will be online at VCpoker (redshades86) playing SnGs for $10 stakes. So come along and have a go! I've just started reading 'The Science of Poker' (http://www.amazon.com/Science-Poker-Mahmood-N/dp/1843440148)

It's good as a reference I think showing you the probability of hitting cards etc! Just a recommendation and another weapon in the armoury.

On another note I think pokertracker is cursed as I have not played well since using it!

Adios, Shades

Multi-tournament (MTT) play

At » 00:45 // 0 Comments »
'Tight is right'. Why is it that I spend 3-4 hours playing in one tournament, building up considerable chips and then decide to blow a load of chips playing something like J-8? Ridiculous! Ah well, we live and learn. I'll put it down to going for a massive chip lead!

Lost it?

At » 01:28 // 1 Comments »
I didnt' place in 3 tournaments in a row last night on vcpoker, playing $10 SnGs. This is unprecedented. When I looked at my play though I was playing too loose and got stung. Also some really bad beats. You know what they say, "if you're getting bad beats, you're playing well" (still hurts though). On the +ve side, the HUD on poker tracker is sensational, I think it gives you a 5% edge on everyone not using it. Ill put an overview of it's features on here shortly!

Adios, (stay positive Red, stay positive, that's what I keep telling myself)

Poker Tracker - Hud Explanation

At » 10:19 // 0 Comments »


Right, here's a brief explanation of the poker tracker HUD. Once you've configured it to auto-import your hand histories and your opponents a HUD appears on the table showing you stats for each player, these include:

Player Name,Player Icon,Total Hands,Voluntarily Put $ in the Pot,
Pre-flop Raise,Total Aggression Factor

I won't go into detail of what each one is right now but in essence it tells you how tight or lose a player is and how aggressive they are when they bet etc. This really does give you an advantage e.g. If you've holding A-10 and the flop comes 10-9-K, you've bet and a re-raise from another player comes in. You can check that players stats on the HUD. If they're super tight then they prob have you beat. If they play loose then go ahead and call it! Don't get me wrong it should never take away playing with your instincts but I think it gives you a 5% - 10% edge on people who don't have it. It could save / win you a lot of money if you use it correctly!

More aggressive flop play - Success!

At » 01:25 // 0 Comments »
Well, you may remember my earlier post regarding changing my play to be more aggressive on the flop when Ive missed. Well it was extremely successful last night. I absolutely massacred a couple of Sit n Gos (SNGs) and never had to put myself all in once! This is definitely the way to go now I feel.

On the -ve side I decided to play some cash limit poker ($1 - $2) and was losing cash quickly. So annoying not being able to get people off draws when you are ahead! Ill be writing a blog item about this shortly! (frustration overload and I need to collect my thoughts).

My videos. Featured videos.

My photos. Now you know me.

My lifestream. Stay updated with me.

My favblog. Feeds from them.